My grandma taught me how to quilt when I was little but I've been too busy to keep up with continuing any more quilts. I used to make a lot of my school projects into quilts with my grandma's help in middle school mainly. I won 1st place in my middle school for a "Week of the Ocean" quilt that had sand on the bottom and a lot of touchy-feely sharks and fish that were 3D.

I guess I had a brain fart and never showed salamander the quilt I was talking about! On a tr from a while back, someone took 12x12 squares of fabric to WDW for all the character autographs then made it into a quilt for her grandson. ADORABLE!!!!!

I just posted on the Scrapbooking board, that I have all the fabric to make my daughter a quilt, but haven't cut a single piece out yet.  I am very new at quilting, and I think the actual process of cutting it out is making me nervous.  She's coming to visit in a few weeks (she lives 1000+ miles away) and will be very disappointed to see that I haven't started it yet.  :popcorn:

I just posted on the Scrapbooking board, that I have all the fabric to make my daughter a quilt, but haven't cut a single piece out yet.  I am very new at quilting, and I think the actual process of cutting it out is making me nervous.  She's coming to visit in a few weeks (she lives 1000+ miles away) and will be very disappointed to see that I haven't started it yet.  :hugsmiley:

What design of quilt are you talking about?  What type tools have you purchased?  I was petrified the first few time I started cutting.

It's a pretty simple block print.  We had the lady at the quilt shop help us pick out a simple pattern.  I have the rubber mat, the big clear ruler and a rotary cutter.  The instruction book gives very detailed directions, but I'm still nervous about cutting it.  I'm not planning on hand-quilting it.  Instead I'll have someone do it on a machine.