A Buckeye - Better Late Than Never - Trip Report

Hey there everyone! Thanks for jumping in! I have never written a TR before, but during every trip I have told my wife that I was going to do one this time. Well, after 4 trips to the Fort in a little over a year she has finally nagged me into doing one.

First things first. We live in Ohio, and can see I-77 from our house. It is nearly 1000 miles from home to FW. We drive a super cab F250 and pull a 29 ft Jayfeather. There is me, my wife (BuckeyFortMama) and our four kids, DD8, DD6, DS4 and DS1. For those of you who are paying attention and are good at math, in the last 13 months we were fortunate enough to drive 8000 miles to and from the Fort with the 6 of us in the cab of the F250. We are a close family, to say the least! This was also our 4th October trip in the past 5 years as we believe this is the best time to be at FW.

This trip took place during the 10 days or so prior to the Halloween weekend, which has been covered so well in other TR’s. We left home on a Wednesday evening after the kids got out of school. It was raining like crazy while I hitched the up TT. I had a rain coat on and it was saturated (as were my shorts) by the time we were ready to leave.

DisneyOct2011170.jpg

The wife and kids were dry though, and very excited to be on our way!

DisneyOct2011171.jpg

And it rained all day. Here is a view heading down I-77 towards West Virginia.

DisneyOct2011172.jpg

Our first nights destination was the KOA in Whytheville, VA., about 300 miles from home. We pulled in about 10:30 pm. It was in the 40’s and windy. We have learned in this situation to leave the kids in the warm truck while we plug the trailer in and get the heater cranking. We then shuttled the kids into the trailer and went straight to bed. I do not have any pictures of the Whytheville KOA as it was dark when we arrived and still dark when we rolled out in the morning at about 6:30 am.