Newbie here :D Lots of questions!!!

Hi all :)

My family and I are going on our first trip to Disney World and staying at Fort Wilderness in 22 days and counting!!! We are renting a cabin and I am BEYOND excited! I have a few questions maybe you all could help me out with. 

1. How long is a typical wait to board the 1st a.m. ferry to MK?

2. When does the ferry start boarding for 8 am opening at MK?

3. We are driving to FL so we will have our own car should we use Disney transport or drive ourselves? I was told take the ferry to MK and drive everywhere else.

4. What tips do you have for getting on the 1st ferry? (i.e. what time to leave our cabin) We do not have a golf cart.

Thank you in advance! I am so happy to have found this site this morning!

My family and I are going on our first trip to Disney World and staying at Fort Wilderness in 22 days and counting!!! We are renting a cabin and I am BEYOND excited! I have a few questions maybe you all could help me out with. 

1. How long is a typical wait to board the 1st a.m. ferry to MK?

Probably only a 5 minute wait once the boat arrives. The first boat usually arrives about 30 minutes prior to park opening.

2. When does the ferry start boarding for 8 am opening at MK?

If you want to arrive at rope drop for an 8am opening, I would recommend taking the launch to the Contemporary, then walking over to the MK. The first launch starts at 6:45 am.

3. We are driving to FL so we will have our own car should we use Disney transport or drive ourselves? I was told take the ferry to MK and drive everywhere else.

Your choice. We always use the buses, as we park hop a bit, and also like to have a drink or two. Most definitely take the bus to DTD as the traffic, construction, and parking is a nightmare.

4. What tips do you have for getting on the 1st ferry? (i.e. what time to leave our cabin) We do not have a golf cart.